Beautiful Bali

 

a08fd7be8004f447b6b1c666716b88c1b885344ceb83772debpimgpsh_fullsize_distr

Kuta Beach is pretty picturesque. This is one of last week’s pictures that wouldn’t upload.

 

My hopes of nightly beach soccer were crushed this week as it rained every single day from sunrise to sunset. Today was the first day of sunshine and just as I was headed to the beach this evening, the rain appeared. Of course.

fd351aba2dece351c9d8f411dfb10feca05512a6414a8c7ffdpimgpsh_fullsize_distr

Eleanor and I hanging out in the hammock

This week started out in our AirBNB rental. The front porch/hangout area was the best, complete with a hammock! I spent more time lounging in that hammock than I care to admit. There was a hotel just up the street that allowed us to use their pool if we bought a beer from their bar. Twist my arm on that one! Two of the downfalls to this rental were we tripped the power quite often (Not fun when you’re in the middle of a shower) and the water smelled horribly of sulfur. By Tuesday, Melissa and Travis had found a rental for us to live in for the remainder of our 30 days in Bali.

 

Holy beautiful new house! The backyard has a swimming pool, cabana, and patio furniture. All three bedrooms have their own in-suite bathroom. My room upstairs has a deck right off of it overlooking the pool. Donna, the on-site daily housekeeper, cleans our house from 9am-2pm Monday-Saturday. I feel like a high roller living here!

8a7748e975c915ea7efaf30779f78a336008a7c2a464b42da6pimgpsh_fullsize_distr

Part of my luxurious room

Due to a pretty influential taxi Mafia and location of the new house, we rented scooters for the month.

54b156212608444d1ee5bcfd624768438615d0876e8daa2847pimgpsh_fullsize_distr

Fun Fact: Gas comes in Absolut Vodka bottles.

I wasn’t able to get an international driving license but once I saw numerous children (we’re talking seven years old) driving scooters, I figured the police don’t really care if drivers have licenses or not.  As in Thailand, my first couple of days driving I followed the scooter traffic. This led me to driving on the sidewalk for over 1km; driving the wrong way on a one way street; and driving on the center line with traffic was going in either direction. I really put my scooter handling abilities to the test and was feeling pretty confident in my skills until…. a scooter clipped mirrors with a taxi and I witnessed the taxi driver beat up the scooter driver. Is he part of the taxi mafia or is that just how they handle sideswipes here? Either way, I think I’ll be a bit more cautious. I wish I had a Go Pro so I could show you just how insane the intersections are. Some intersections you just blaze right through; others are more free for all and quite chaotic. Neither way is marked so I just roll the dice if there’s no car in front of me. In the free for all intersections, the trick is to not hesitate. Just pull right in there and you’ll get through unscathed. I feel like I should place a bet on me being accident-free with this chaos.

 

Today’s day off led me to the north part of Bali. I went to Pura Ulun Danu Bratan Temple and NungNung Waterfall. The pictures make the temple look way cooler than it actually was yet doesn’t give justice to how massive and powerful NungNung Waterfall was. The road from the temple to the waterfall was essentially a double black diamond for scooters. For your Coloradans, imagine Starfire run in the back of Keystone. Now envision driving up that, on a scooter, and throw in some random hairpin turns. Now repeat that for 20+ kilometers. Oh my gosh. I’m going to die today. Why am I on this road? This waterfall better be worth it. What if my brakes give out? That’s a pretty long drop over that edge. Is this even the right road? It feels more like a demented back alley. Oh wait. I made it?! Oh wow. That was actually fun! I can’t wait to drive that out of here! I should see how much I can lean into those turns on the way home!!!

849262782e927e93441f1744e49bf529fe65504f252e2968edpimgpsh_fullsize_distr

Pura Ulun Danu Bratan Temple

8bf41330762850424bc200fc2256e389c2cdd0583c00da0d98pimgpsh_fullsize_distr

After a treacherous road and 500+ steps down, I made it to NungNung Waterfall

Now to the not so glamorous part… I find myself struggling to live in the same house as the kids. I feel like even when I’m off duty, I’m still working. I definitely took for granted the peace and quiet I had in my own place back in Thailand after spending 8 hours with the kids. Eleanor is struggling as well. She’s been acting out this week due to a new/different house, me living with them (there’s not a clear definition in her head when I’m there to take care of her and when I’m there just to hang out), and Melissa and Travis’s friends from Denver also living with us for their two-week vacation. To top it off, M & T have hired an additional nanny to cover nights and my two days off. That’s a lot of people taking care of Eleanor and all of us have different boundaries. I’m sure her mind is completely frazzled right now. I need to find my Patience Pants and cross my fingers that we can regain some sort of normalcy this week!

 

24b809ee20d6d9c680fa3d3a8075a346f3c81f33ba30a86acapimgpsh_fullsize_distr

Rice paddies during today’s adventure. The scenery is so beautiful!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

